Bartolini Giardiniera: Good but, not Great.

Recently I made a gallon’s worth of giardiniera. I posted a couple photos on Facebook along with a comment or two. I was asked for the recipe. I explained that I wanted to taste test this batch of giardiniera prior to sharing the recipe. The wait is over. Here’s the story of this batch of giardiniera.

I found the recipe on the blog “from the Bartolini kitchen” (http://fromthebartolinikitchens.com/2011/08/24/giardiniera-the-chicago-way/)
They describe this as: “Giardiniera – The Chicago Way”. Here is their recipe and directions:

Chicago Giardiniera Recipe
Ingredients
 8 jalapeños, chopped (for more heat, serranos may be substituted)
 1/2 large cauliflower, cut into florets
 2 carrots, diced
 2 celery stalks, diced
 1 green bell pepper, diced
 1 red bell pepper, diced
 2 sweet banana peppers, diced
 1 sweet onion, diced
 1/2 cup kosher salt
 3 cloves garlic, minced
 2 1/2 tsp dried oregano
 1 tsp red pepper flakes
 1/2 tsp celery seeds
 black pepper, to taste
 1/2 cup cider vinegar
 1/2 cup white vinegar
 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
 1/2 cup vegetable/canola oil

Directions
1. Combine vegetables and salt. Add enough water to cover, stir, cover, and refrigerate for at least 12 hours.
2. Strain vegetables from brine, rinse well, and set aside.
3. In a large glass bowl, add garlic and remaining seasonings.
4. To that bowl, add the vinegars and stir until well-mixed. Whisk the solution while adding the oils.
5. Add the reserved, brined vegetables into the bowl and gently mix until well-coated.
6. At this point, the giardiniera may be left, covered, in the bowl or transferred to clean jars. Either way, it must be refrigerated for 48 hours before serving.
7. Because this giardiniera isn’t canned, it must be stored in the refrigerator, where it will keep for a few weeks.

Due to dietary restrictions in our house, I made a few modifications to the recipe. I replaced the bell peppers and banana peppers with two (2) poblano peppers and three (3) Serrano peppers. Another divergence from the recipe, I mixed the garlic in with the vegetable mixture for the brining.

After the required 48 hours, I tried the giardiniera.

If you like a very fresh and crispy giardiniera, then this recipe is for you. If, like me, you prefer more of a pickled type giardiniera, check back in a few weeks when I’ve had a chance to test another recipe.

The taste of the apple cider vinegar is overpowering. I feel that it detracts from the giardiniera. I may try this recipe again. If I do, I will substitute the apple cider vinegar with white vinegar.

48 hours was not enough time for the flavors to blend together. Each item, whether it was pepper, onion, carrot, celery, or cauliflower, retained its unique flavor to the exclusion of the others. I prefer a more blended flavor profile for my giardiniera. I like it when the cauliflower has some pepper/onion/garlic/carrot flavor. To fix this issue, I put a jar’s worth of giardiniera in the food processor and minced it together. This helped. I’m hoping that as the giardiniera continues to mature the flavors will blend more.

Overall, I am not impressed with this recipe. There were a few reviews on the Bartolini web site that stated using this giardiniera in the cooking process made their recipe taste even better. I think that may be the strength of the Bartolini recipe. If you’re choosing their giardiniera to top your sandwich, think again. If you’re adding it to your slow cooker or braising pan, I think you’ve got something there.

This is the first of many giardiniera recipes I will try. If you’re interested in joining me on this journey, follow along.

Leave a comment